​​Saturday 20 May 2023, 15:00
The Hague: Paleiskerk

The People United


reserve tickets

Tickets:  € 10 – € 27,50

Antonii Baryshevskyi piano


Boris Lyatoshinsky
Reflections, opus 16
Valentin Silvestrov
Second Piano Sonata (1975)
Svyatoslav Lunyov 
Movements from the piano cycle Mardongs

Three Ukrainian Composers

​Shortly after the Russian invasion of Ukraine, master pianist Antonii Baryshevskyi moved to Amsterdam. He has won prestigious piano competitions and, as an artist in residence, will be our guest multiple times this season. On several occasions, he has made a stunning impression in our concerts.

Baryshevskyi is a passionate advocate for Ukrainian piano music. He performs the stunning piano cycle Reflections and the romantic Preludes by Boris Lyatoshinsky, the most prominent Ukrainian composer in the first half of the last century. One of his most notable students is Valentin Silvestrov, who began his career with complex avant-garde pieces. From that adventurous period, his Second Sonata is an undisputed masterpiece. Later, he started composing in a dreamy, nostalgia-filled style that is instantly recognizable. With a touch of self-mockery, he published his four-part cycle Kitsch Musik.

A kindred spirit is Svyatoslav Lunyov, who is still relatively underplayed. However, that is bound to change. His music is brilliant and original. In Mardongs, he pays tribute to fellow composers. His Etudes present a tremendous challenge for the pianist.