​Wednesday 9 March 2022, 20:00
The Hague: Paleiskerk


Liszt’s sprong in het duister

past concert

Tickets:  € 10 – € 27,50

Nikola Meeuwsen piano


​Johann Sebastian Bach

​Partita no. 1 in B-flat-major, BWV 825

​Dmitri Shostakovich 

​Piano sonata no. 2 in b-minor, opus 61

​Franz Liszt 

​La notte
​Piano sonata in b-minor

​An ode to the night

​The pianist Nikola Meeuwsen is a rising star: on TV, in festivals and recently with the Residentie Orkest as soloist in Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto. In this solo recital in his hometown of The Hague, he plays works in which Liszt took a plunge into darkness. Because a full evening's recital is possible again, he expands his programme with Bach’s First Partita and Shostakovich’s Second Piano Sonata

Liszt based his masterpiece La Notte on Michelangelo’s funerary monument, which bears the same name, in the Medici Chapel in Florence. Liszt painted the night and was so fond of his piece that he wanted it played at his own funeral. Liszt left open what he wished to express in his iconic Sonata in B minor. Some biographers perceive the piece as a titanic struggle between the forces of darkness and light. According to pianist and musicologist Charles Rosen, Liszt brilliantly translated the popular gothic novels of his time into music. 

​​My sleep is dear to me, and more dear this being of stone, As long as the agony and shame last. Not to see, not to hear is for me the best fortune. So do not wake me! Speak softly. 

Michelangelo Buonarroti: La notte