​Thursday 25 November 2021, 20:15
The Hague: Paleiskerk

​Around shostakovich

Six Adagios

past concert

Tickets:  € 10 – € 27,50

​Daniel Rowland violin
Tijmen Huisingh violin
Joël Waterman viola
Maja Bogdanović cello


​Dmitri Shostakovich 

​​String quartet no. 4 in D-major, opus 84
​String quartet no. 13 in b-flat minor, opus 138
​String quartet no. 15 in e-flat minor, opus 1

​A deep affinity

​Few musicians have such a deep affinity with Shostakovich as the violinist Daniel Rowland. As the former first violinist of the Brodsky Quartet, he has performed the complete quartets many times. For the final concert of our five-day festival, he has assembled a quartet with musicians who are friends of his. They will be performing one of Shostakovich’s most poignant pieces: the Fifteenth String Quartet from 1974. Its six hushed, at times haunting adagios include an elegy, a serenade, a nocturne and a funeral march. Biographers see the quartet as Shostakovich’s farewell to life, although after its completion he announced that he had already started working on a sixteenth quartet. But he was unable to complete it.

The quartet can be heard alongside the lyrical Fourth String Quartet with Jewish themes and the radical one-movement Thirteenth String Quartet, one of Shostakovich’s most progressive pieces. 

​​“He did not write about this war and that revolution, but about war and revolution in general, the state of mind and emotion, not facts.”

​Maxim Shostakovich