Web Analytics


“He did not write about this war and that revolution, but about war and revolution in general, the state of mind and emotion, not facts.”


Maxim Shostakovich

around shostakovich

Sunday 17 October 2021, 20:15

The Hague: Paleiskerk

six adagios

Daniel Rowland violin

Tijmen Huisingh violin

Joël Waterman viola

Maja Bogdanović cello



Dmitri Shostakovich
String quartet no. 4 in D-major, opus 84

Strijkkwartet no. 13 in b-flat minor, opus 138

Strijkkwartet no. 15 in e-flat minor, opus 144

A deep affinity

Few musicians have such a deep affinity with Shostakovich as the violinist Daniel Rowland. As the former first violinist of the Brodsky Quartet, he has performed the complete quartets many times. For the final concert of our five-day festival, he has assembled a quartet with musicians who are friends of his. They will be performing one of Shostakovich’s most poignant pieces: the Fifteenth String Quartet from 1974. Its six hushed, at times haunting adagios include an elegy, a serenade, a nocturne and a funeral march. Biographers see the quartet as Shostakovich’s farewell to life, although after its completion he announced that he had already started working on a sixteenth quartet. But he was unable to complete it.


The quartet can be heard alongside the lyrical Fourth String Quartet with Jewish themes and the radical one-movement Thirteenth String Quartet, one of Shostakovich’s most progressive pieces.

Order tickets : € 10,00 – € 27,50

The Hague: Paleiskerk

The Brodsky Quartet performs Shostakovich during the Prinsengrachtconcert.

Classical NOW!


(Pop-up) Concerts

Music Theatre

Postal Address

Classical NOW!

Arnhemsestraat 62

2587 SW  The Hague